Community

Mini batch gradient decent confusion  

RSS

calvingloster@gmail.com
(@calvinglostergmail-com)
20/01/2019 4:10 am  

Hello

I started coding a library in C to run experiments on neural network size, activation function, batch size etc. I am currently facing two problems.

1. My NN trains itself on the mnist data set and only learns the training data after about 200 epochs which is as i understand a lot. I also only get an error rate of 20% minimum and anything lower takes extremely long. This does not make sense as tutorials i have seen with tensorflow the error rate drops really low  (<10%) just after 5 epochs. My NN uses stochastic gradient decent, i.e. the weight values are updated every sample. I thought this could maybe be a problem so i tried changing my code to implement mini batch gradient decent which lead me to my second problem.

2. I don't understand how to update the weights with mini batch gradient decent. When i feed a training sample into the network i can calculate the cost of that specific sample and the overall error that must be propagated back. I save this error into a variable that accumulates over my minibatch loop. Once done i have a variable that contains the accumulated error of all the samples in my mini batch. Now i must update my weights and this is where i get stuck. To update the weights the error must be multiplied with the hidden unit values which are dependent on the input sample you feed the network. Which values for the hidden units do i use? I hope my question makes sense

ReplyQuote
cl4ptp
(@cl4ptp)
20/01/2019 6:23 pm